Nouveau Motown Sound

Booker T. Jones: Check this album, Representing Memphis, out!

I’ve always considered myself a music lover, and I love this blend of jazz, blues, and melody.  Great classy music that puts me in the mood for hosting a fun cocktail party serving martinis in fabulous heels.

My favorite song: “Progress”

http://www.merchantsofrock.com/booker-track-feat-nationals-matt-berninger-sharon-jones/

Image via Stonesthrow.com

Aloe Blacc: This is a very satisfying album with a retro, yet refreshing, Motown feel.  Upbeat songs with smooth melodies.  If I had a vintage Mercedes convertible? This would be playing in it all the time.

My favorite songs: “I Need A Dollar” and “Femme Fatale”

Cee Lo Green "The Lady Killer"

Cee Lo Green: The most famous expletive song (on the radio known as “Forget You”) is very popular.  However, there are several other songs on here that  have a great retro vibe with Cee Lo’s unique voice.  Personally, I like music that is hard to categorize but makes you feel good and bop your head.  These are those songs!

My favorite songs: “No One’s Gonna Love You” and “Old-Fashioned”

Image via popcrush.com

ADELE: If you haven’t listened to Adele’s sophomore album, 21, then you must head over to Itunes immediately.  This chick can SING and she is fantastic live.  She also has a retro soul sound but with her own modern twist.  This is the album you’ll be caught singing to in your car on the commute home.

Favorite songs: “Rolling in the Deep” and “Lovesong”

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

